01 Feb 2022

ESAs high-level conference on financial education and literacy

This joint ESAs conference will bring together high-level government representatives as well as experts from public authorities, academia, NGOs, consumer associations and the industry, to exchange ideas and experiences, stimulate the discussion and raise awareness on financial education and literacy.

The discussion is organised around the following four topics:

  • financial education and Capital Markets Union;
  • digitalisation with a specific focus on cybersecurity, scams and fraud;
  • financial resilience of vulnerable groups; and
  • sustainable finance.

Due to the limitations of the online platform, the number of participants may be limited and spontaneous registrations will be assessed and confirmed on a first-come first-served basis.

Registrations are open until 19 January 2022 at 16:00 CET.

Register here

  • Mairead McGuinness, EU Commissioner for Financial services, financial stability and Capital Markets Union, European Commission
  • Stéphanie Yon-Courtin, Vice-Chair of the Economic and Monetary Affairs (ECON Committee and substitute of the Internal Market and Consumer Protection Committee (IMCO), Member of the European Parliament
  • Flore-Anne Messy, Acting Deputy Director of the OECD Directorate for Financial and Entreprise Affairs and Executive Secretary of the OECD International Network on Financial Education (INFE)
  • Edvardas Šileris, Head of European Cybercrime Centre (EC3), Europol
  • Stéphanie Yon-Courtin, Vice-Chair of the Economic and Monetary Affairs (ECON) Committee and substitute member of the Internal Market and Consumer Protection Committee (IMCO), European Parliament
  • Annamaria Lusardi, University Professor of Economics and Accountancy at the George Washington University School of Business, and founder and academic director of GWSB’s Global Financial Literacy Excellence Center
  • Prof. Dr. Alexander Kern, Chair for Law & Finance, University of Zurich
  • Petra Hielkema, Chairperson, EIOPA and Chairperson, ESAs Joint Committee
  • Verena Ross, Chairperson, ESMA
  • Jose Manuel Campa, Chairperson, EBA
  • Fausto Parente, Executive Director, EIOPA
  • Natasha Cazenave, Executive Director, ESMA
  • Francois-Louis Michaud, Executive Director, EBA
  • Tatyana Panova, Head of Unit, Capital Market Union unit, European Commission (DG FISMA) 
  • Jean-Paul Servais, Chairman of the Belgian Financial Services and Markets Authority (FSMA) and vice chair of the IOSCO Board
  • Aleksandra Mączyńska, Executive Director, Better Finance
  • Tanguy van de Werve, Director General, the European Fund and Asset Management Association (EFAMA)
  • Martin Schmalzried, Senior Policy and Advocacy Manager, COFACE-Families Europe and member of the EBA Banking Stakeholder Group, EIOPA Insurance Stakeholder group
  • Fiona Van Echelpoel, Deputy Director General, Directorate General Market Infrastructure and Payments, European Central Bank
  • Wim Mijs, CEO, European Banking Federation
  • Maria Lucia Leitão, Head of Banking Conduct Supervision Department, Banco de Portugal
  • Maciej Kucharczyk, Secretary General, AGE Platform Europe
  • Michaela Koller, Director general, Insurance Europe
  • Peter Simon, Managing director of the World Savings and Retail Banking Institute and the European Savings and Retail Banking Group (WSBI-ESBG)
  • Magda Bianco, Head of the Consumer Protection and Financial Education Department, Bank of Italy
  • Pasquale Munafὸ, Senior officer at General Manager's Office, Consob and Chair of the IOSCO C8 on Retail Investors & Co-Chair of the IOSCO C8 WG on Sustainable Finance and Investor Education
  • Thierry Philipponnat, Head of Research and Advocacy, Finance Watch 
  • Lorraine Cooke, Managing Director (Tax & Financial Advisor), Jigsaw Financial Solutions and Member of Brokers’ Ireland Financial Broker Committee
  • Lidia del Pozo, Director of Community Investment Programs and responsible of the Global Financial Education Program, BBVA
Add to your calendar