Skip to main content
European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority

Digital Operational Resilience Act (DORA)

Why is DORA needed?

The financial sector is increasingly dependent on technology and on tech companies to deliver financial services. This makes financial entities vulnerable to cyber-attacks or incidents.

When not managed properly, ICT risks can lead to disruptions of financial services offered across borders. This in turn, can have an impact on other companies, sectors and even on the rest of the economy, which underlines the importance of the digital operational resilience of the financial sector.

This is where the Digital Operational Resilience Act, or DORA, comes into play.

    What does it cover?

    ICT risk management

    Principles and requirements on ICT risk management framework

    ICT third-party risk management

    Monitoring third-party risk providers

    Key contractual provisions

    Digital operational resilience testing

    Basic and advanced testing

    ICT-related incidents

    General requirements

    Reporting of major ICT-related incidents to competent authorities

    Information sharing

    Exchange of information and intelligence on cyber threats

    Oversight of critical third-party providers

    Oversight framework for critical ICT third-party providers

    Timeline for implementing legislative acts

    The three European Supervisory Authorities (the European Banking Authority (EBA), the European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA) and the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA)), are preparing a set of policy products to enable the application of DORA.


    1. 16 January 2023

      Entry into force of DORA

    2. 26 May – 23 June 2023

      Public consultation on the call for advice on criticality criteria and fees

    3. 17 July 2024

      Delivery of the second batch of policy products

    4. 17 January 2025

      Application of DORA

    5. from 2025

      Start of the oversight activities for the ESAs (incl. CTPPs designation)