Members of the Board of Appeal

The Board of Appeal is composed of six members and six alternates, who were appointed by EBA, ESMA and EIOPA respectively, as required by the ESAs' Regulations.

The members are individuals with a proven track record of professional experience in the fields of banking, insurance, occupational pensions and securities markets or other financial services, and with the necessary legal expertise to provide expert legal advice in relation to the activities of the Authorities. Current staff of the national competent authorities, or other national, or Union institutions involved in the activities of the ESAs are not eligible for service on the Board of Appeal.

The members and alternates of the Board of Appeal are:


  • Carsten Zatschler (Member, Germany) - Senior Counsel at the Bar of Ireland
  • Genevieve Helleringer (Member, France) - Professor of Law in Financial Regulation, M&A, Corporate Governance and European Law
  • Marta Božina Beroš (Alternate, Croatia) - Associate Professor in EMU Law and Governance (Faculty of Economics and Tourism in Pula)
  • David Ramos Muñoz (Alternate, Spain) - Associate Professor of Commercial Law, Arbitrator and advisor to services


  • Gerben Everts (Member, The Netherlands) - Executive Director of European Investors / Dutch Shareholders Association (VEB)
  • Christos Gortsos (Member and Vice-President, Greece) - Professor of Public Economic Law at the Law School of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens and President of the Academic Board of the European Banking Institute (EBI)
  • Rüdiger Veil (Alternate, Germany) - Professor at the Ludwig Maximilians University, Chair of Private Law and Business Law, and Director of the Munich Center for Capital Markets Law
  • Niamh Moloney (Alternate, Ireland) - Professor of Financial Markets Law, London School of Economics


  • Michele Siri (Member and President, Italy) - Professor of Insurance and Financial Markets Law, University of Genoa
  • Margarida Lima Rego (Member, Portugal) - Associate Professor and Vice-Dean at NOVA School of Law, NOVA University
  • Daniela Morgante (Alternate, Italy) - Chair of the International Board of Auditors for NATO, Chair of the College of Auditors of European Union Institute for Security Studies, and Member of the Italian Alternative Dispute Resolution Arbiter Court for Financial Litigation
  • Konstantinos Sergakis (Alternate, Greece) - Professor of Capital Markets Law and Corporate Governance, University of Glasgow